This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Delmonte Award for Innovation Excellence
Share |

Delmonte Award for Innovation Excellence

Delmonte Award for Innovation Excellence

The SAMPE Delmonte Award for Innovation Excellence was established by John Delmonte in 1981. It is intended to encourage outstanding contributions in the field of materials and processes throughout the world; to acknowledge major achievements by honoring distinguished individuals in the field of materials and processes; and disseminate those technical achievements among the members of the materials and processes community.

Application submissions may be completed by an individual or a team responsible for the most significant impact of the achievement or commercialization, or the most significant impact of the material or technology if not yet commercialized. A nominee's primary qualification must be an outstanding contribution to the field of materials and processes. This includes areas of engineering, science, research and production. The candidate's work will be evaluated based on high technical achievement, benefit to the material and process engineering community and innovative or of breakthrough quality.

Click here to view the rules, requirements and nomination form for the SAMPE Delmonte Award.


Applications are due on February 15 of each year.

Questions? Contact us at

SAMPE Delmonte Award Recipients


2020 University of Delaware for Composite Materials (CCM) Team for

          Tailorable Universal Feedstock for Forming (TuFF) Material Technology

          Mr. Alex Vanarelli, Research Associate II

          Dr. Jack Gillespie, Jr., Director, FSAMPE
          Dr. Dirk Heider, Assistant Director for Technology

          Dr. Nickolas Shevchenko, Manager, Composite Technolgoy
          Dr. John J. Tierney, Senior Scientist
          Dr. Shridhar Yarlagadda , Assistant Director for Research

2019 Dr. Hota V.S. GangaRao, Wadsworth Distinguished Professor
          & Research Advisor, West Virginia Univ.
          Praveen K.R. Majjigapu, Doctoral Candidate West Virginia Univ.

2018 Utah Governor's Office of Economic Development


2009 Donald F. Adams, Wyoming Test Fixtures

2006 Samuel J. Dastin, Dastin Associates

1991 George S. Springer, Stanford University

1989 Dennis E. Nolen, DuPont

Allied Signal 5-person team:
D.C. Prevorsek
G.A. Harpell
Y.D. Kwon
H.L. Li
S.A. Young 


1988 Alphonsus Pocius, 3M

Honorable Mention:
Carl Zweben, General Electric
Michael Piggott, University of Toronto 


1987 Roscoe A. Pikes, United Technology Research Center

1986 Clyde H. Sheppard, Boeing

1985 Dave Diveche, Naval Surface Weapons Center

Honorable Mention:
Hatso Imide, Case Western Reservice
Leo Windecker, U.P. Research
Bill Long and Helen Moeller, Babcock & Wilcox 


1984 John P. Tipton, General Electric

1983 Sidney W. Street, HITCO


1982 Warren M. Jensen, Boeing

Platinum Corporate Partners

21680 Gateway Center Drive
Suite 300
Diamond Bar, CA 91765-2454

P: +1.626.521.9460