This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
George Lubin Memorial Award
Share |

George Lubin Memorial Award

George Lubin Memorial Award

George Lubin, an originator of reinforced plastics and pioneer in the development and implementation of advanced composites for primary structures had a long and distinguished career. George was quick to realize the importance of SAMPE in the mid-1960's and founded the SAMPE New York Chapter. Through his efforts and worldwide recognition, he led early international meetings including the first US-USSR non-metallics fair for which he was awarded a service medal by the then U.S. President Nixon.

George Lubin, a graduate engineer holding B.Ch.E and M.S. Ch.E from CCNY and long time SAMPE Fellow had led early composite development at the New York Applied Science Labs, Basson Industries, and a long and distinguished career at Grumman Aerospace Corporation from which he retired as Chief Scientist. George had received many awards and accolades from several high-ranking government, university, and industrial officials for his untiring work to advance material science and processing for the betterment of society throughout the world.

Upon his death, the SAMPE organization was quick to recognize his over 50 years of composites development work by establishing the George Lubin Award. This award is given to recognize others who have made significant contributions in the field of material and process engineering. The industry surely misses George's honesty, wit, and hard working ethic that always got the job done effectively and efficiently. The George Lubin Award allows us to remember the man and helps us to initiate his strong desire to teach, lead, and reward advancements in both technology and world friendship.

Click here for the SAMPE George Lubin Memorial Award nomination form.
Nominations are due on February 15th of each year.

Awardees will be honored during the SAMPE Awards Ceremony at CAMX - The Composites and Advanced Materials Expo.

Dr. Allan Crasto, Chair
George Lubin Memorial Award

Award recipients

1986 Melvin M. Schwartz
1987 Stephen W. Tsai
1988 Tito T. Serafini
1991 Stephanie L. Kwolek
1994 Philip M. Condit
1995 Elbert L. Rutan
1996 George Epstein
1997 W. Brandt Goldsworthy
1998 Raymond J. Palmer
1999 Vincent J. Russo
2003 George K. Muellner
2004 Thaddeus H. Sandford
2006 Jon B. DeVault
2012 Dr. Leslie J. Cohen

2016 Dr. John Tracy
2017 Dr. Charles Browning

2018 Larry Ashton

Platinum Corporate Partners

Find Us

21680 Gateway Center Drive
Suite 300
Diamond Bar, CA 91765-2454

P: +1.626.521.9460