This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
How to Start a Student Chapter
Share |

How to Start a SAMPE Student Chapter

Student chapters are important to SAMPE because they support the Society’s educational mission and serve as training groups for the next generation of members. 

Students and faculty members are encouraged to create student chapters according to the following charter establishment requirements:

  1. A Student Chapter located within North America can be chartered by the SAMPE North America Board.
  2. Four students and a faculty advisor/professional are required to form a Student Chapter. These students are not required to attend the same school.
  3. It is also required that a Professional Chapter sponsor the Student Chapter. The Professional Chapter initiates the request for the Student Chapter to be chartered. That request is submitted to the SAMPE Secretary and then presented to the SAMPE Board of Directors.

For additional assistance, please contact SAMPE Membership Manager, Katia Tyra at

Click here for the online SAMPE Student Chapter Petition   

Schools With Active SAMPE Chapters on Campus

Student Chapter
Faculty Advisor
Brigham Young University   Andy George
Butler Community College  
BYU - Idaho  Kyle Klinghorn
CA State University / Fullerton  Sagil James
CA State University / Long Beach   Ehsan Barjasteh
CA State University / Northridge   
Cal Poly - San Luis Obispo    Faysal Kolkailah
Cerritos College   
Colorado State University   Donald W. Radford
Cuesta College   Eltahry Elghandour
Davis Applied Tech   Wes Hobbs
Drexel University   Giuseppe Palmese
Edmonds Community College   Ross Monroe
FAMU-FSU   Rebekah Sweat
Florida Institute of Technology   David Fleming
Louisiana Tech  Hamzeh Bardaweel
Michigan State University   Mahmood Haq
Montana Tech   Ronda Coguill
New York University   Kunal Kothari
North Carolina A&T University   
North Carolina State University   Jerome J. Cuomo
Oklahoma State University   Ranji Vaidyanathan
Oregon State University  Roberto Albertani
Rice University   Enrique V. Barrera
Sam Houston State University   Dr. Darren L. Williams
Stanford University   Fu-Kuo Chang
South Dakota School of Mines and Technology   David R. Salem
Tarleton State University  Daren Davis
Texas A & M University  Terry S. Creasy
Texas State University  Jitendra Tate
Tuskegee University  Mahesh V. Hosur
Universidad Autonoma de Baja California, Ensenada  Guillermo Amaya Parra
Universidad Autonoma de Baja California, Mexicali  Rogelio Ignacio Ballesteros Llanes
Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico   Manuel Herrera Zaldivar
Universidad Tecnologica de Tijuana (UTT)  Ricardo Dominguez
University of Alabama/Birmingham  
University of Arizona  Donald Uhlmann
University of British Columbia  Frank Ko
University of California at Los Angeles  Clem Hiel
University of California at Santa Barbara  Keith Kedward
University of Central Florida   
University of Cincinnati  Jude Iroh
University of Dayton  Donald Klosterman
University of Delaware  John W. Gillespie
University of Denver  Suraj Rawal
University of Illinois at Chicago  Jeremy Abiade
University of Maryland - Baltimore County  Marc Zupan
University of Maryland - College Park  Andrew Becnel
University of Nevada - Reno  Shen-Yi Luo
University of North Carolina/Charlotte  
University of North Texas  Nandika D'Souza
University of Southern California  Steven Nutt
University of South Carolina  Ramy Harik 
University of Southern Mississippi  Jeffrey Wiggins
University of Texas of Austin  Joseph H. Koo
University of Utah  Mike Czabaj
University of Washington  Brian Flinn
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee  Rani Elhajjar
Utah State University  Rob Hendrickson
Washington State University  
Weber State University  Mary Foss
West Virginia University  Ever Barbero
Western Washington University  John Misasi
Wichita State University  Davood Askari
Winona State University  Keith T. Dennehy
Wright State University  


Starting a Student Chapter Documents

Item Name Posted By Date Posted
SAMPE North America Bylaws PDF (787.4 KB) Administration 2/3/2020
Student Chapter Petition PDF (286.26 KB) Administration 11/1/2018

Platinum Corporate Partners

21680 Gateway Center Drive
Suite 300
Diamond Bar, CA 91765-2454

P: +1.626.521.9460